test?

Standard

Well. I might as well start here since I have been absent from livejournal for months and opened this account long before that. Most likely I wouldn’t even bother except that I’m working and there isn’t a lot to keep me alert let alone occupied at 3:45 in the morning. I always find it a little sad when I don’t blog but I have been very busy and mostly happy for quite awhile so it’s not too much of a surprise that I haven’t. I do wish I had a little more of a record of the last year or so. I don’t write in a paper journal and I popped my scrapbooking cherry last January but haven’t completed one since. Not that my entire life is a collection of unfinished projects and loose ends!

Seriously, my life has been so good. I am working part time now at the job that I left in February but in a different, awake all night position, while I job search and recover from back surgery (a discectomy performed about two weeks ago). And because of complications from the job I recently had to leave in order to have the surgery, health insurance is again kind of a mess. What I wish I had realized a long time ago, is that my boyfriend’s company considers me his domestic partner. So, perfect, insurance. Except IBM up and bought his company and they are in a transition period. IBM does not consider me a domestic partner so soon, and no idea how soon, no insurance. There will be bills for deductibles but at least I have been covered. And I’m finally getting a root canal, after almost a year of favoring one side of my mouth, that will be partially covered. I am just healing and walking as far as my back goes but I will need to start physical therapy toward the end of August. So…yeah, lots and lots of medical bills that my amazing domestic partner and/or boyfriend will have the burden of paying. We can swing it. Or, more honestly, he can. It doesn’t help my sense of self or neurosis that I am not financially independent but I am lucky. We have been shacking up for nearly two years now and we have become a family. Money for ridiculous deductibles or no, I am lucky.

I continue to be in love which is why I was not sarcastic in saying life has been good. Plus, I feel so much better physically since all my discs are unherniated. My memories of post-op discomfort during the first week have been blurred by oxycodone, and now I am relatively functional. That is, no lifting or bending, but fewer sound effects involved in everyday movements. I was, again, much assisted by my life partner. He says that he doesn’t think much about all the help he’s given me because I’ll be changing his diapers when he’s 80 and it all evens out. Pretty sure he said it in a more romantic, delicate way. Though that is the way I would expect any mature, loving person to act in a relationship such as ours, I’m grateful. He doesn’t have to be decent and he has truly gone above and beyond, anyhow. He watched Bethenny Getting Married? and procured many random snack foods at odd hours. He also helped change my socks and didn’t shame me for going five days without showering. He continues to do household chores that aren’t easy for me, including the litter boxes which are being littered in by no less than five cats. Well, four and a half. We are taking care of a friend’s two adult cats but I sort of spent too many days in a row visiting animal shelters and we adopted a new kitten. She’s cute too, Willy Wijacks. She has mutant feet and is now about three months old. I will update with an obnoxious amount of pictures, obviously, at a later date. She has been great company, as have our guest cats for the most part.

It seems things are not crazy different from where I left them. Change of job, resolution of back issues, crazy cat lady. I think that’s all the important stuff.

