fun times with hygiene

Standard

As an unemployed person who happens to enjoy couch potato moments even in the best of times, I have recently been spending a pretty questionable amount of time on the computer while watching tv or the like. I actually get dressed and leave the house maybe 3 or 4 times a week, but that’s including the weekend. I was talking with someone at a party awhile ago who said the key to staying sane with out a job is showering everyday. I think that’s absolutely great advice but I am decidedly not following it. I’m not grossed out if I do go a few days without a shower because, frankly, my body is not gross and I don’t smell and I change my underwear so whatever. But a shower does make me feel like I smell especially good, especially if I use my new leave-in conditioner that smells like cupcakes, and so it’s refreshing and somewhat motivating. If only I had the motivation to get into the shower.

Thanksgiving was awesome anyway, but it helped that it was a change of pace. We cleaned up the house real nice like because we were going to have company and now we are keeping it clean like civilized people. Both Rob and I tend to get lazy when it’s just the two of us at home, so before a few weeks ago it was not looking so great. I feel better when everything looks neat and I’m home all the time so it should not be difficult to clean and yet…

I know, I’m such a catch. I haven’t shaved my legs in months and I would do it for Rob, at least sometimes, to be nice but he says he doesn’t really care either way. In fact, whether I’m freshly showered or not doesn’t seem to have an effect on his attraction to me, which is nice in a way. But I don’t want to end up in a rut. Although, if we do stop having sex in the next eight weeks, it would give us something to talk about in premarital counseling! I really want to get our Rob’s money’s  worth.

I’m looking forward to Christmas and even though most of the shopping is done there are a lot of things, including wrapping, I’m going to start occupying myself with. I don’t know how I would be feeling if I didn’t have that, or the wedding-planning stuff, to distract me. Well, probably not more energetic, that’s for damn sure.

This hermit-y, sloth-y, slug-y mode is not foreign to me and though I’m not really miserable, I’m starting to think I would be better off if I could snap myself out of it. Every once in awhile I think about canceling cable and what I would do in place of TV (besides catch up on the important shows online) which would include, reading more, meditating, actual frequent exercise, listening to more music, and writing. It’s silly though to think that having cable TV is what keeps me from those things since, wow, our TV has an off function.

I have extra time not working that I feel I should be taking advantage of by doing any of those things, even if I still spend half that time playing the Sims 3, it would be more productive and, most likely, make me feel better in general. It’s my brand new initiative.

Perhaps I’ll go to the stupid gym tomorrow.

