holiday times

Standard

Christmas was quiet but nice. Things didn’t exactly go as planned and I saw about 40% of the family (2 out of 5 family members, that is) I expected to see. I saw my lovely friends and that helps make up for other things.

My laptop decided to stop functioning in a way that’s difficult to repair so, thanks to my Amazon store card with a horrible interest rate, I now have a new (slimmer and shinier) computer to play with. It had to be done. Also, I plan to pay it off soon with no interest, if the cost of heat doesn’t eat up my tax refund this year.

Well, this is a thrill-a-minute post, isn’t it?

I have been quite bummed for a few weeks about my sister and a yucky decision she is in the process of making but it’s nothing I can control so all those feelings just aren’t helpful. She’s putting distance between us (quite literally) and between me and my nephew and that I’ve spent these months bonding with him and reconnecting with her makes this absolutely…heartbreaking.

2011 will go down as the year my heart got broken a lot. And you know, that’s ok, it really is. I feel at peace. Most of the time I feel pretty content. The Mountain Goats were a great support.

 

 

The Mountain Goats “This Year” from A Bruntel on Vimeo.

