wisdom from other people

Standard

I had a lot of fun this weekend. An obscene amount of fun. As a result, my brain feels sort of wiped.

Currently my goal is to find a job that will better support me and will somewhat resemble a career. Last week, I had some setbacks, or what felt like setbacks anyway, and I’m haunted by how much money I spent Friday and Saturday. I have been pretty disciplined with money since the move. It’s essential that I stick to my budget which sometimes means no fun. This weekend I had no choice but to have fun (hello, Hunger Games premiere). So I’m absorbing all that guilt and listening to the hedonist inside me who insists that I deserved it.

But you know I really feel pretty calm and content today. I’m moving forward.

A few months ago I started collecting my favorite quotes in a little notebook, some of them I’ve probably copied here or on livejournal ages ago. Mostly they are statements that resonated with me and I want to keep them together. Writing your own life philosophy is hard. So I’m just copying the thoughts of people far smarter and more notable than I.

Erich Fromm:

“Love is the only sane and satisfactory answer to the problem of human existence.”

“Thus, the ultimate choice for a man, inasmuch as he is driven to transcend himself, is to create or destroy, to love or to hate.”

“One cannot be deeply responsive to the world without being saddened very often.”

Edward Abbey:

“Be loyal to what you love, be true to the earth, fight your enemies with passion and laughter.”

Sir Thomas Browne:

“By compassion we make others’ misery our own, and so, by relieving them, we relieve ourselves also.”

Charles Dickens:

“No one is useless in this world who lightens the burden of it for anyone else.”

Gloria Steinem:

“In my heart, I think a woman has two choices: either she’s a feminist or a masochist.”

Victor Hugo:

“The greatest happiness of life is the conviction that we are loved for ourselves, or rather, loved in spite of ourselves.”

Sam Keen:

“We come to love not by finding a perfect person, but by learning to see an imperfect person perfectly.”

Ernest Hemingway:

“The world breaks everyone and afterward, some are strong at the broken places.”

Paul Banks:

“No matter how sad you may get, it’s always passing…Sadness is a strange companion. And a nuisance. So try not to pay it too much mind. And be present in your happy moments – and weigh them against the sad. It’s well worth it. And you will arrive somewhere wonderful with peace in your heart.”

Eleanor Roosevelt:

“The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.”

F. Scott Fitzgerald:

“Family quarrels are bitter things. They don’t go according to any rules. They’re not like aches or wounds, they’re more like splits in the skin that won’t heal because there’s not enough material.”

Richard Bach:

“The bond that links your true family is not one of blood, but of respect and joy in each other’s life.”

Anthony Brandt:

“Other things may change us, but we start and end with family.”

George Bernard Shaw:

“I am of the opinion that my life belongs to the whole community and as long as I live, it is my privilege to do for it whatever I can. I want to be thoroughly used up when I die, for the harder I work the more I live.”

Placebo:

“A heart that hurts is a heart that works.”

Frank Hall Crane:

“You may be deceived if you trust too much, but you will live in torment if you don’t trust enough.”

